Full Moon Energy and Self-Awareness

I used to bartend and wait tables.  I did this all throughout college.   I remember nights bartending when I never took my head out of the well.  I would be making margaritas and cocktails non-stop without ever having the chance to look up!  I couldn’t keep up with how quickly drinks where being ordered and slammed.  These nights, I always knew, were full moon nights.  I could always call it.  The energy of the group as a collective was high, vibrant, chaotic, a little wild, and always unexpected and interesting.  It ALWAYS felt unstable.  As we’d wrap our nights up and walk to our cars I’d look up at the bright moon and call out “hello old friend!”

Did you know that emergency rooms more often than not are more busy on full moons?   Did you know that luna means moon and is of Latin origin?  And that the word lunatic comes from the word lunaticus which means “of the moon” or “moonstruck.”  The word lunatic means dangerously foolish or unpredictable.

I think that if the moon can affect the ocean’s tide twice a day it can certainly have an effect on us.  I don’t think it affects everyone the same.  I think certain people are more sensitive to the effects of the moon than others.  Just like some people are more sensitive to chemicals, environmental toxins, smoke, dairy, etc.  I do think that since  we are over  70% water and that the brain is made up of mostly water it can effect us in various ways. I do notice though the longer I practice Yoga the more sensitive I become.

I use the full moon energy to help me fine tune my self-awareness.  Each full moon is different.  I always try to remain more alert.  It’s the perfect opportunity to practice.  I know when a full moon is coming because I tend to have trouble falling a sleep one to two nights before because of increased energy.  I wake up bright and early.  Sometimes before 5 AM but fully ready to go!   Today, I am remaining more watchful because I feel very emotionally sensitive.  I have already teared up several times which is out of sync with my regular pattern.  As long as I remain watchful I remain balanced.   I feel a little impulsive and a little reckless, could that be the “luna” effect on me?  Could the moon’s gravitational pull be effecting rhythms in the brain?   I think the pull can effect our hormone balance temporarily.  I think it pulls on us subtly just as it effects the whole.  I try to stay watchful so that I recognize what is “me” and what is the moon’s pull on me.

I love full moons because it gives me an excellent opportunity to watch my inner-self.  I practice self-awareness and try to feel my way through what is real and what is illusion.  Why am I writing about this today?  Because today is a super moon!

It is the largest full moon of 2012.  The moon is passing by the earth even closer than usual so the gravitational pull is different.  I am staying alert, staying present, and staying the watcher of the whole experience.  This is Yoga.  We are meant to be the inner watchmen.  In watching ourselves we make clear what is real and what is maya, illusion.  In seeing clearly we see reality.  Full moons give us a perfect chance to practice self-awareness.  We can use the moon’s energy to help guide us back to Self.

Brightest Blessings,

Sandra Vanatko

www.indrasgrace.com

Join us on Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/IndrasGrace.Yoga.Weatherford?ref=ts

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. marketing
    May 05, 2012 @ 13:58:17

    I relish, result in I found just what I was having a look for. You have ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

    Reply

  2. Diane Palencia
    May 05, 2012 @ 16:24:14

    Thank you for your reminder about how the moon can influence behavior. I have also noticed how a full moon may affect the behavior of people who have dementia. Last night I woke up with a full blown panic attack, something I have often observed in patients but never experienced myself. I had to get up out of bed and spend about thirty minutes journaling to calm myself down. Then I took two Benadryl and went back to sleep. Now in the light of the day I can see how my fears about my worsening arthritis and an upcoming hip replacement along with a super moon all conspired to steal my peace! Thanks for your encouragement to examine our lives and our reactions to circumstances and trust in the Power behind it all to work all things together for good.

    Reply

  3. Indra's Grace: A Yoga & Meditation Studio
    May 06, 2012 @ 06:54:22

    HI Diane! Thank you for your comments. If you are feeling anxious you can try lemon balm tea before bedtime. Also, soak in a tub of 3 cups epsom salts and 1 cup baking powder for 20 minutes. Notice if you feel more relaxed. By soaking you take MG transdermally. We have to make sure we have enough minerals. MG deficiency can cause joint pain. Aches can be caused by mineral deficiency. I see a lot of soreness and aches and pains lessen when we supplement properly. Also look at taking glucosamine and chondroitin. Take sugar out of diet. Take gluten out. See if that helps! Great book by Mark Hyman called Ultra Prevention with great ideas. I hope that helps. Please let me know if you have any questions!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

